2016 TI Foundation Innovations in STEM Teaching Award winners

2016 Texas Instruments Foundation Innovations in STEM Teaching Award Winners

The goal of the Texas Instruments Foundation Innovations in STEM Teaching Awards is to honor three secondary teachers who are enhancing student achievement and increasing interest in STEM areas. The award includes a $10,000 cash prize for each recipient, of which $5,000 is designated for the individual winning teacher. The remaining $5,000 is to be used for STEM related professional development, technology and/or classroom materials on the teacher's campus.

GISD’s 2015-16 recipients include Bussey Middle School math teacher Christi Brewer, North Garland High School engineering teacher Sean Denny, and South Garland High School automotive technology teacher Timothy Hahnl. Each was selected by a committee after being nominated by their principal and submitting an application.

TI Foundation Director of Major Education Grants Ann Pomykal presented the trio with $5,000 checks for their personal use during GISD’s May 24 board meeting.

“There are great, great teachers and it is amazing to me when I get the privilege of coming out to introduce them,”  she said. “We respect and admire the work that is being done in the district.”

Award winners

  • Timothy Hahnl - South Garland High School
  • Sean Denny - North Garland High School
  • Christine Brewer - Bussey Middle School